Follow us

Subscribe to out Newsletter

MÓRglór Concert 2022 celebrating Malbay Studios under the direction of Martin, Anne & Seán O’Malley


More Info

€25/€22 Conc. + €1 Booking fee

Buy a glór gift voucher

glór is delighted to announce that this year’s annual MÓRglór Award 2022 has been awarded to Malbay Studios under the direction of Martin, Anne, and Seán O’Malley.

With the vista of the Atlantic as a backdrop, Malbay Studios is an integral part of the musical landscape of Clare. Under the careful and patient stewardship of Martin O’Malley, Malbay Studios has a reputation of distinction in recording, production and mastering since its establishment in 1997. Malbay Studios hosts music makers from many musical traditions, and from many places; most especially, it has contributed immeasurably to the community of traditional music in County Clare.

O’Malley musical genes run deep in West Clare and the studio builds on those solid foundations in the 21st century. By way of Dublin roots and Boston travels, settling in Miltown Malbay was a homecoming for Martin and his wife Anne, his partner in the business. Joined by his son, Seán O’Malley, Malbay Studios is truly a family enterprise.

With almost thirty years’ experience, Martin’s distinction as a sound engineer is matched by his standing as a songwriter and musician. That musicianship is key to his success as a sound engineer, bringing technical and musical mastery to recording and live event engineering.

Though on the edge of Clare, Malbay Studios is central to the music community and includes an enviable roll call of artists, including the Kilfenora Céilí Band, Tommy Peoples, Josephine Marsh, Donal Lunny & the Atlantic Arc Orchestra, and Cherish the Ladies, among many others. Martin’s vision for a first-class studio space where any fiddler, singer or piper would feel welcome and thrive, has been fully realised. Malbay Studios is a testament to Martin’s dedication to excellence, to place and to traditional music.

On Saturday October 22nd, musicians across the country along with the people of Clare will come together to acknowledge a depth of gratitude to Malbay Studios for their enormous contribution to traditional Irish music with a concert in glór featuring the family, friends, and extended family, along with some of the most renowned traditional musicians and singers in the county and the country. The line up includes The Kilfenora Céilí Band; PJ Murrihy; Bríd O’Donoghue and the O’Brien Family; Josephine Marsh; Eoin O’Neill and the Fiddle Case; Tommy McCarthy and Louise Costello and Francis Cunningham and Eimear Coughlan with many more to be announced.

The Concert will also be recorded and available to view as a ticketed event online from 1st – 30th November to enable people far and wide to access it (Tickets €10).

The Concert will also be recorded and available to view as a ticketed event online from 1st – 30th November to enable people far and wide to access it (Tickets €10). Click the Book button below to buy tickets for the recorded event. 

Martin O Malley of Malbay Studios in Miltown Malbay, this years recipient's of the MorGlor Award, pictured against an Atlantic Ocean backdrop.

County Clare is renowned and celebrated globally for its rich musical heritage with music, song and dance all playing a central role in the cultural life of the county.

MÓRglór is an acknowledgement and celebration by glór of the wealth of professional & semi-professional artists, alongside the talented individuals, groups, and communities within the county, all of whom provide a vital stimulus for the growth and development of Clare’s unique culture.

This prestigious annual award, named after Clare’s cultural ambassador and visionary, Muiris Ó Rocháin, is curated by glór in partnership with Dr. Tim Collins as producer of the event, and who coordinated the original concert in 2013. An anonymous panel of traditional arts practitioners and experts, assembled by glór, selects an Awardee, fitting with the objectives and spirit of MÓRglór. The previous MÓRglór recipients were Corofin Traditional Music Festival (2014); Eoin O’Neill (2015); Frank Custy (2016); Geraldine Cotter (2017); Chris Droney, (2018); Mary MacNamara (2019) and The Shannon Family (2021).